Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > DIY Channel > DIY Strat Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

DIY Strat Forum Building your own S-Type Guitar? This is your place to discuss the whole process. NON-COMMERCIAL ONLY

Old August 6th, 2012, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member!

Best way to get a strat body for cheap ?

As I explained in my recently-posted introduction, I'm new to strats but certainly not to guitars and guitar-modding and I'd like to build me a modded strat.

I want to keep the classic 3 pickups configuration and general guitar craft and replace the pickups with vintage "gold foil" ones (DeArmonds or Teiscos...). 'Cause I like that tone.

My first step is to get my hands on a strat, or at least a strat body and neck. Since gold foils PU's are quite expensive these days, I'd like to get the guitar for cheap but I'm reluctant to go "sweatshop-plywood-cheap", iykwim.

But keep it under 100$ if that's possible... (is it ?)

Do you see any options available ?

2nd hand MIK Squier ? Hamer ? Sammick ?

Some other brand I wouldn't know about ?

inbearsuits is offline   Reply With Quote

Old August 6th, 2012, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Strat-O-Master

If I were you, I'd look for a used Squier SE. I'm not sure if you're looking for a particular color or not, but they come in White, Black, and 3 tone Sunburst. The body is full sized and made of solid agathis. The rosewood necks that come stock are hit and miss, but there are some good ones out there. You can find a used SE here in the states from $25-$75 easy.....

Seeing as you're in France, i'm not really sure whats going to be available to you though.

Old August 6th, 2012, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Stratmaster

Meet mickmsmith:
http://www.strat-talk.com/forum/misc...wine-body.html

You can always do a flea-bay search:
stratocaster body | eBay