Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Main Stratocaster Guitar Discussion Forum > Squier Strat Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Squier Strat Forum Hear ye, hear ye, Discussith Squier Strats herein

Old April 15th, 2013, 05:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member

What's the difference between Squire, and Fender?

I am fairly new to guitars, and am trying to understand why a Squire Strat is so much cheaper than a Fender.
I've played both. I used to own a Fender American Deluxe Fat Strat ($1,200, maybe), but had to sell when I lost my job. I've been searching the used Squier Strats, and found a used Bullet, and a used Strat ($40 each) that have awesome necks that feel as good as the American Deluxe.
Other than the obvious, are there any differences in construction?
Is it not worth it to put better electronics in a $40 used Squire? How about making a new body for the Bullet? I don't really like the plywood, but the neck kicks ass!!
I'm a furniture maker, and I figure it's all about the amount of time a human being gets paid to put hands on the guitar. Labor is expensive, materials are, relatively speaking, inexpensive.
If I put the time in to polish up a Squire??? As "good" as an American Strat?

joshwhipkey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 15th, 2013, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Stratmaster

a lot of things are different

- thickness body of some Squiers is really thinner
- wood of some Squiers is bad or in +3 pieces
- pots of some Squiers are cheaper wearing
- tuning mechanism of some Squiers are cheaper wearing
- string spacing is wider on MIA Fender, same on MIM

But some other Squiers are damn fine guitars you know!

Upgrading a Squier is sometimes worth it.
A Bullet is very cheap and given the right upgrades it becomes a very good player. Body is thin mind you, but it might be what you look for (slink less heavy etc)!