Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Main Stratocaster Guitar Discussion Forum > Squier Strat Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Squier Strat Forum Hear ye, hear ye, Discussith Squier Strats herein

Old February 8th, 2009, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Strat-Talker

Difference between Squier body and Fender body?

Hey guy does anyone know how different of the 2 Alder bodies used between the Squier Strat and a MIM Fender Strat ?

AKnight21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 8th, 2009, 05:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Strat-Talker

well the fender is more than likely going to be made of less pieces

Old February 8th, 2009, 05:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Strat-Talker

thanx for the reply! On the musicians friend website it says it made from a contoured solid alder body, does that still mean it's made out of various pieces? I'm a newb so sorry I am learning.
AKnight21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old February 8th, 2009, 05:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Strat-Talker

ha its fine dude i am just a guy with to much time............ when they say contoured thats the belly cut on the back of the body and the slim down top edge on the front...............most guitars are made of various pieces wood but not stacked on top of each other like play u can get some squiers with 2-3 piece bodys if u find one in a store and check it over

Old February 8th, 2009, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member

Depends on which Squier model you are referring to. Only the Affinitys and CVs are Alder. The Affinity is probably a three piece spec body but is only 1.5 in thick. My stock Affinity weighed in at 8 lbs. The CVs are spec bodies and are two or three piece. So, the biggest difference is going to be the quality of the Alder. I assume that the Alder used in Chinese/Indo bodies is not US stock and the MIM is.
mtjo is offline   Reply With Quote