Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Main Stratocaster Guitar Discussion Forum > Stratocaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Stratocaster Discussion Forum The Strat-talk.com Fender Stratocaster Discussion Forum

Old January 2nd, 2010, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member!

How do I drill a 4 bolt strat replcement neck?

I have a new scalloped strat neck on the way and have never tried drilling one for install.any insight would be much appreciated.i am a fairly accomplished carpenter with plenty of tools.what are some dos and donts??Thanks.

barnartpro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 2nd, 2010, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Stratmaster

Usually the neck comes pre-drilled to fit standard Strat hole spacing. However the neck holes may not fit your Strat exactly, escpecially if your guitar is one of the many Strat clones out there.

I've had this problem, & solved it by buying some small dowels at a modeler's hobby shop which were the right size to fit Strat screw holes (take in a screw to compare). Glue them in & when dry cut off the dowels then sand flush.

Position & CAREFULLY clamp your new neck in place taking care to line it up right. I installed the bass & treble E strings to use as guides, making sure they lined up properly down both sides of the neck. Then I clamped.

A drill press is best if you have access to one, but I didn't, so I used a hand drill with a "bubble" guide in it's top to be as accurate as I could. Just drill very lightly through the holes on your new neck to mark the hole placements. Or you could use a sharp punch for the same purpose.

Then check the depth you need to make the new holes & use a depth guage when drilling. A simple piece of masking tape taped around the drill bit at the proper depth will work.

Good luck!
orcslayer is offline   Reply With Quote