Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Main Stratocaster Guitar Discussion Forum > Stratocaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Stratocaster Discussion Forum The Strat-talk.com Fender Stratocaster Discussion Forum

Old October 6th, 2010, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member

Neck Question...

So this is my first time over here...I usually hang out on the Tele forum but sense I've recently aquired a few strats and they have become my main gigging guitars I thought I'd join here as well

I've got a quick question...

I have a 1996 Mexican made Strat with Lace Holy Grain Pickups. I like the way the guitar sounds. The HGs work well for me as they have a move "vintage" sound but allow me to use higher gain pedals without all the buzz and hum of standard single coils.

My main question is weither it's worth it to replace the neck. The thing is a really nice feeling shallow C but my big hands and blues-ish infused playing style are making my arm hurt when I play longer shows. I REALLY like V necks, the Clapton is amazing and even the few Jimmie Vaughan that I played were good. I also like bigger fat necks like on the 50s tele's. I just feel like I need more in my hand when I'm doing lots of lead.

I know after market necks can be bought but is it worth it? I'd need to make enough from the sale of the current neck to buy another. Even though this is a MIM neck it does have the older spegetti logo on it, which I LOVE but it does have a truss rod hole so it's only slightly vintage looking I have a drill press so getting it drilled wouldn't be hard.

Another option I've thought of is to simply replace the pickups with something cheaper and then sell it on Craigs List and buy a guitar with a fat neck.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

revelator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 6th, 2010, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)