Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com

Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Main Stratocaster Guitar Discussion Forum > Stratocaster Discussion Forum
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Notices

Stratocaster Discussion Forum The Strat-talk.com Fender Stratocaster Discussion Forum

Old April 27th, 2011, 04:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member

What to do with paint chip on a guitar?

Hi everyone,

I was wondering what the best solution was on fixing paint chips on the body? My MIM strat has a poly coating and I didn't know what I should do. Should I sand it down?

I'm a complete newbie so any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone :D

DeltaOneEight is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 27th, 2011, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Strat-O-Master

hmm i assmued it would be nitro when i read this.

not sure what to do for poly, not much you can do. id just leave it be. you now own a reliced guitar

Old April 27th, 2011, 05:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Stratmaster

Depending on the color and size of the chip, nail polish can be a good cheep fix.
jimmiraz is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old April 27th, 2011, 05:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Stratmaster

I don`t know, I`ve never seen a home made repair to paint chips that looked convincing...get a few more and call it a relic.
sneakypete is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 27th, 2011, 06:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Strat-O-Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmiraz View Post
Depending on the color and size of the chip, nail polish can be a good cheep fix.
+1. If you're lucky, the chip will be in an area that's all one color, for example, the black ridge at the edge of a sunburst.

Bring the guitar with you to your local cosmetics counter, that way you can compare the color side by side with the color of the guitar.