Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum



Warmoth.com Amplified Parts lacemusic.com seymourduncan.com


Go Back   Fender Stratocaster Guitar Forum > Other Discussion Forums > Tech-Talk
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Tech-Talk Strat nuts and bolts talk goes here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 13th, 2010, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
Stratocaster 7 way switch?

Do they make a 7 way switch for strats so you can every possible pickup configuration?
I think i remember seeing a strat with one on ebay.

Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 13th, 2010, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
ogion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 226
I'm interested in that too. I know they have the S1 switch..........
ogion is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 13th, 2010, 08:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogion View Post
I'm interested in that too. I know they have the S1 switch..........
I heard that isn't reliable.
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old May 13th, 2010, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
drf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 50
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clapton22 View Post
Do they make a 7 way switch for strats so you can every possible pickup configuration?
I think i remember seeing a strat with one on ebay.
I have not seen a 7 way switch. However I modded my strat by replacing a tone pot with a push pull pot. Pulling up turns the neck pickup to always on. I then use the regular pickup selector to get the neck bridge and all pup combos.

dan
drf64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
LukeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 162
Send a message via Skype™ to LukeM
Yes, the best way for the 7 way switching is to replace a tone pot with a push/pull that allows bridge on/neck on.

My blender wiring harness is also an option, with no need for push/pulls.
__________________
Mac Guitars - Custom Wiring, Electronic Upgrades & Aged Parts.
www.macguitars.co.uk
LukeM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
I found this on ebay, Link, this would work right? But should they have a 250k and 500k version, which one should I get?
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
LukeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 162
Send a message via Skype™ to LukeM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clapton22 View Post
I found this on ebay, Link, this would work right? But should they have a 250k and 500k version, which one should I get?


Don't buy that. It's the cheapest piece of crap available.

If you're going to upgrade, at least do it with CTS pots and a CRL or Oak switch. Not Alpha pots and a box switch.
__________________
Mac Guitars - Custom Wiring, Electronic Upgrades & Aged Parts.
www.macguitars.co.uk
LukeM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeM View Post


Don't buy that. It's the cheapest piece of crap available.

If you're going to upgrade, at least do it with CTS pots and a CRL or Oak switch. Not Alpha pots and a box switch.
what size pots? 250k, 500k, etc......
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
LukeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 162
Send a message via Skype™ to LukeM
250k for single coils; 500k for humbuckers - that's the general rule of thumb.
__________________
Mac Guitars - Custom Wiring, Electronic Upgrades & Aged Parts.
www.macguitars.co.uk
LukeM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
drf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 50
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clapton22 View Post
what size pots? 250k, 500k, etc......
depends somewhat on your pups. If they are straitforward single coils, 250 will be fine. If HB or some noisless, 500s will do better.

dan
drf64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 07:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
If I do this, I also wanna make it so the middle tone knob will be for both Mid and Neck pups and the bottom tone knob for the bridge pup.
So my knobs after I mod it would be:
1st knob(closet to pups) - Master Volume/push pull for '7 way' switching
2nd knob - Tone for mid and neck pup
3 knob - Tone for bridge pup.

How hard will this be? I have some experience with soldering, I'm taking an electronics class now which we solder parts to circuit boards, to make stuff. And how much money you think if will cost?
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 14th, 2010, 07:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mexico
Age: 21
Posts: 128
I have a switch to turn on my neck pickup anytime I want, i find myself not playing with bridge + neck combo, but i do use all pickups, when I need a very clean tone, it does the job.
__________________
Listen to my music http://www.myspace.com/vallejoleal

Fender MIM 60th Anniversary Telecaster
Squier MIJ 1983 "SQ" Stratocaster
vallejo.cvl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 15th, 2010, 03:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
LukeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 162
Send a message via Skype™ to LukeM
I'd personally put the push/pulls on one of your tone pots.

But yes, that wouldn't be hard to do. If you would like one from me, please PM me or email me.

I've given my advice in this thread, and it's your choice whether you take it. I'm not telling you to order from me, but merely pointing you away from buying crap. And believe me, that is the cheapest crap he can find.
__________________
Mac Guitars - Custom Wiring, Electronic Upgrades & Aged Parts.
www.macguitars.co.uk
LukeM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 15th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeM View Post
I'd personally put the push/pulls on one of your tone pots.

But yes, that wouldn't be hard to do. If you would like one from me, please PM me or email me.

I've given my advice in this thread, and it's your choice whether you take it. I'm not telling you to order from me, but merely pointing you away from buying crap. And believe me, that is the cheapest crap he can find.
Why the tone pots? And how much would you charge?
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 15th, 2010, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Strat-Talker
 
LukeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 162
Send a message via Skype™ to LukeM
Because the CTS pots have a smoother taper and I prefer them on the volume pots so they're not jumpy. Whereas tone is different, so the push/pull can go on one of those pots.

Email me at info@macguitars.co.uk detailing what you want and I'll give you a price.

Thanks.
__________________
Mac Guitars - Custom Wiring, Electronic Upgrades & Aged Parts.
www.macguitars.co.uk
LukeM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 15th, 2010, 02:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Strat-Talk Member
 
Clapton22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Age: 21
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeM View Post
Because the CTS pots have a smoother taper and I prefer them on the volume pots so they're not jumpy. Whereas tone is different, so the push/pull can go on one of those pots.

Email me at info@macguitars.co.uk detailing what you want and I'll give you a price.

Thanks.
alright, will do.
Clapton22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 WAY SWITCH....?????????? motoman45 Squier Strat Forum 6 October 1st, 2009 08:07 AM
SWITCH PIC motoman45 Squier Strat Forum 0 September 18th, 2009 03:31 PM
Installing DiMarzio Tonezone on Stratocaster HH S1 switch QUESTION justinc89 Pickup Forum 0 August 23rd, 2009 12:18 AM
3 way switch Jackie Treehorn Tech-Talk 9 February 2nd, 2009 01:47 PM
Need help with my Stratocaster Deluxe S1 Switch yaronis1 Stratocaster Discussion Forum 2 September 13th, 2007 05:44 AM

Untitled Document

Untitled Document

» Recent Strat-Talk Discussion
For Trade rob distefano tele
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2


The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Strat-Talk.com is an independent, member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
© 2007 All rights reserved.

Strat-Talk.com is not responsible for the content posted by private individuals on this website. The views expressed herein are solely the opinions of the individuals that produced them and not necessarily the views of the owner of this website.