Join Strat-Talk Today

1974 Fender Stratocaster -- please give me your input

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Brother_Hesekiel, Mar 15, 2019.

1. Brother_Hesekiel

Brother_Hesekiel Strat-Talk Member

I am considering making an offer on this '74 Strat, as it ticks all my boxes: super lightweight, genuine vintage with 3-bolt neckplate, light relic, yet still . . . "affordable." Since I'm no expert, I'd like you to give me your input regarding possible issues, incorrect details, etc.

Thank you!

https://reverb.com/item/18964241-fender-stratocaster-maple-hardtail-sunburst-1974

That said, I'm really confused about the 6.25 lbs. weight. That would be the opposite of a boat anchor, which is what Strats from those years usually are.

Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
    4stratshere likes this.
  2. CyFan4036

CyFan4036 Strat-O-Master

I would ask for some more detailed pics for that kind of money. I have heard that neck pockets can be quite sloppy on some Fenders of this era...like fit a quarter in sloppy.

franklyn13 and AngelDeVille like this.
  3. LOSTVENTURE

LOSTVENTURE Strat-O-Master

The weights were actually all over the place, during all of the 70's and into the 80's. So an occasional light weight would not be that unusual. Although 6.5 pounds would have been rare.

gjohnson441496 and ZlurkCorzDog like this.
  4. AngelDeVille

AngelDeVille Strat-O-Master

I think I’d top out at around $1,800ish depending on those pictures...

But it does look pretty good, and they aren’t making any more from that year.

Stratbats likes this.
  5. Paperback Rocker

Paperback Rocker Nitro-mancer Strat-Talk Supporter

Seems very overpriced.

CyFan4036, vid1900 and TN703800 like this.
  6. Guitarmageddon

Guitarmageddon Canada Strat-Talk Supporter

I would think that because it's not Pau Ferro on the fretboard, it's inferior and you should pass on it.

Seriously though, it's overpriced by like $750-1000

Stratbats, Yves, TN703800 and 3 others like this.