Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Advice on Strat Purchase - weight?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by cyra, Nov 12, 2017.

1. cyra

cyra Strat-Talk Member

Oct 27, 2017
    Havana Florida
    I'm just starting to learn the guitar, and I have a Guild True American. I decided I wanted to invest long term in an electric. After deciding a Stratocaster best suited my tastes I began to narrow down the search. I decided to go with an Elite because of the extended tonal palette (S1 Switch). For other reasons I won't bore you with I decided on an Ash body and Rosewood fingerboard. This is just to say I did try to make an informed decision. I was ready to pull the trigger on a new Elite and thought all I needed to decide was a particular grain structure I found appealing.

The Sweetwater web site shows pictures of the models they have in stock to do just this. While viewing I became confused when I noticed a weight variance between identical models. For the Tobacco Sunburst with Rosewood fretboard there are three in stock, based on the serial numbers all were built in 2016. Two of the guitars weigh in at 8lbs 6oz and the third at 8lbs 10oz. I checked on other American Elite models and found the same weight discrepancy. For example the same Tobacco Sunburst model with an ebony finger board built between 2016 & 2017.

American Elite Serial Number Weight
    Color Tobacco Sunburst US16129959 9lbs 3oz
    Body Ash US17016228 8lbs
    Neck Maple US17017799 8lbs 6oz
    Fingerboard Ebony US17019514 8lbs 6oz

I thought the strats were pretty much machine produced, and even with manual labor the difference between 9lbs 3oz and 8lbs for an identical product is difficult to understand, at least for me.

Can someone help me understand the reason for this?

Thanks in advance.

2. mechanic

mechanic Strat-Talker

The density of the wood can make a fair difference in the weight.