Join Strat-Talk Today

Amp and pedal(s) suggestions...

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by JurnyWannaBe, Mar 13, 2019.

1. JurnyWannaBe

JurnyWannaBe Strat-Talker

I am just getting into playing and I would rate my skills at strong beginner easing into intermediate. Right now my best amp is a Vox VT20+. I have 2 friends who are guitar guys from way back. One of them helped pay his way through college playing on weekends. They both think I need to move up from a modeling amp to a standard amp and add some basic pedals. Any thoughts, advice, or suggestions on what to start looking at will be appreciated.

2. Stratoskater

Stratoskater Most Honored Senior Member

What do they mean by standard amp? Are they saying you need a tube amp? If you are happy with your amp and the tones you are getting there is no need to spend money on gear just because your friends say you should. Are you playing gigs and need a more powerful amp? Are you happy with your tone you get from your current amp? Those are the type questions that need to be answered before spending money on gear. You would be far better served to spend money on lessons and spend time practicing at this stage than buying amps and pedals.

3. Morf2540

Morf2540 Strat-O-Master