Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Any Tips on Writing Instrumentals?

Discussion in 'Sidewinders Bar & Grille' started by RnR Nolan, Feb 12, 2018.

1. RnR Nolan

RnR Nolan Strat-Talker

Sep 5, 2017
    Chandler, AZ
    Hello everyone,

I've been playing the guitar for about 5 years now but only really seriously started learning it around 2 years ago.

Recently I've gotten good enough (I think) to start making some music of my own. I've been making mostly instrumentals since I don't sing, but also since I'm just in that mood right now. I'm going through some rough times right now and as a result, I am inspired to compose mellower music as opposed to upbeat joyful music...

Anyway, from a composing standpoint, I feel like I'm stuck as far as getting better at songwriting and arranging specifically. My problem is that I have trouble actually moving the song anywhere... For example, I may play a little riff or passage that I really like, and then I tend to have that same thing repeat throughout the whole song without having any different parts to the song. Essentially, it's almost like I'm jamming along to a loop and it gets boring to listen to.

My question is, do any of you have any tips on writing an instrumental piece? Also, how are some ways you get inspired? Do you have a certain way you go about writing music like this? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

If you'd like to listen to some of the music I made to get an idea of where I am and what I'm talking about, I have a link in my signature for the only 3 songs I made that I think are tolerable and somewhat complete. Currently, I have them on Spotify and YouTube.

Thanks for reading, and I'm thankful for any tips. :)

Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
    Photobug57 likes this.

2. fezz parka

fezz parka On...for Omar. Strat-Talk Supporter

Apr 21, 2011
    Undisclosed.