Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Buzz that goes away when I touch the strings

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by Ravenmore, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Ravenmore

Ravenmore Strat-Talker

Oct 9, 2017
    Cedar Park
    Hi all - I'm new to working on guitars. I bought a couple of cheap Squier Strats to practice working on. One I simply pulled apart and put back together. The other I changed the pickups, switch, and pots on, although those electronics were pre-wired together. Both of them are producing a buzz now when plugged into the amp. However it goes away when I touch the strings. So I'm wondering what I need to do to fix it. Not sure if adding shielding to the guard and body would help. I also wonder if it could be related to input jack wiring/connection as that is one point I had to solder, and I suck at soldering. :) Also wonder if that wire should be a shielded wire? Anyway, any guidance for a noob is appreciated. :)

2. albala

albala Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

May 10, 2012
    stamford, CT
    sounds like a grounding issue

3. The Strat Dude

The Strat Dude Duderino Strat-Talk Supporter

4. Deschain

Deschain Strat-Talk Member

Jun 23, 2017
    Denmark
    1. Single-coil PU's will nearly always have some buzz.
    2. Look for problems with ground connection, especially to the bridge.
    3. Use shielded wires for signals, where ever possible.
    4. Shielding the cavities and pick-guard will help, but don't expect it to eliminate all buzz.
    5. Replace PU's with noiseless or humbuckers :)

It can be difficult to get rid of all noise/buzz, nut it is not impossible. I have two strats with single-coils and they are both dead silent. However, I have gone to extremes to completely silence them :)

5. Stratoskater

Stratoskater Senior Stratmaster