Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

combo as a head, custom cabinet?

Discussion in 'DIY Amp Forum' started by cappei, Jan 3, 2018.

1. cappei

cappei Strat-Talker

Jun 24, 2017
    Quillota, Valparaíso, Chile
    Can I use an old marshall amp of 15 watts as a head, to a custom built cabinet?

I was also thinking, can I get just one of these things

https://articulo.mercadolibre.cl/MLC-451727675-parlante-profesional-pasivo-600-watts-_JM

let's say I take the speaker out (or maybe I just use the speaker as it comes from factory), put it in a wood cabinet and use the small combo as a head? ... is that possible?

Im a total noob to amps

greetings and love to ya'll

2. AndSomeone

AndSomeone Strat-Talker

Jan 2, 2018
    Santa Monica
    If you amp has a speaker out you can connect it to another cab, but make sure the impediance match. Some amps have speaker out that’ll automatic bypass the built in speaker and other you can run in series. But first of why would you wanna move the same speaker from the combo in to a different cab assuming your Marshall is a 15w combo amp.

3. cappei

cappei Strat-Talker

Jun 24, 2017
    Quillota, Valparaíso, Chile
    Not the speaker of the amp, just using a bigger speaker, you know? like those people use for karaoke and stuff. Like, taking a big ass random speaker and use the combo as a head for it

4. AndSomeone

AndSomeone Strat-Talker

Jan 2, 2018
    Santa Monica
    I can’t see why not just make sure the impediance is correct so you won’t burn the amp of blow the speaker. I’ve done it with the little vox mv50 through and old aura tone speaker.

It might sound off as guitar amp speaker are made specifically to enhance certain frequencies for guitar whereas a karaoke speaker is made for a whole other ballgame.

5. sumran

sumran Fan of Leo

Mar 7, 2010
    Gainesville, FL