Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Gibson advice for a Strat guy

Discussion in 'Other Guitar Discussion' started by Rob Moreno, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Rob Moreno

Rob Moreno Strat-O-Master

May 28, 2017
    Tokyo
    I'm about to buy my first Gibson ever. A Les Paul Studio. I'm a complete Gibson novice so I'm wondering if you guys can help me decide whether it's worth the $500 asking price. It's from an online shop and the date and serial number are not in the description. They say it's in very good condition, although it's difficult to judge from the low resolution photos. It does not come with a case. Too me, the price seems fair for a USA Gibson, but I know that Studios are generally a cheaper class of Les Paul. Should I bite? Is there anything I should be aware of like quality issues, etc.

bookoff20104-img674x1200-1515472830lsfumv13085.jpg bookoff20104-img674x1200-1515472836ehnzr211292.jpg bookoff20104-img674x1200-1515472826zibryd12864.jpg

Tomas83, shupe13, Nate D and 4 others like this.

2. brians

brians Senior Stratmaster

Nov 28, 2016
    ZA
    Not a Gibson guy but that looks very sweet

3. Rob Moreno

May 28, 2017
    Tokyo
    Neither am I, and I thought it looked sweet as well, which is why I want to buy it :cool:

john lavelle, abnormaltoy and brians like this.

4. albala

albala Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

May 10, 2012
    stamford, CT
    It looks OK from here...nothing stands out as fake

$500 is an OK price to pay, and a Studio is a great entrée to the world of Gibson

Neil.C, Nate D, john lavelle and 4 others like this.

5. Rob Moreno

May 28, 2017
    Tokyo
    Thanks for the reassurance!

john lavelle and abnormaltoy like this.

6. Jinx_The_Lynx

Jinx_The_Lynx Strat-Talker

Aug 21, 2016
    West of West
    I would ask to see pics of the numbers before I handed over the cash. You never know nowadays.