Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Going to build one

Discussion in 'DIY Strat Forum' started by drysideshooter, Mar 8, 2018.

1. drysideshooter

drysideshooter Strat-Talk Member

Feb 25, 2018
    eastern WA
    I'm tired of CL ads, trying to find the right Strat, and live in an area where the nearest dealer with any selection of new is a few hours away. I'm a developer and builder, and a master level woodworker with a shop full of metal working and wood working tools. I was looking at a MIM at a local pawn shop this morning that was pretty nice. It's a 1990 and probably has one of the American made bodies they shipped south back then. A lot of wear and dings and it just didn't talk to me. I've played guitar since the early 70's and recently got back into it after a long hiatus. I sold my last Strat in the mid 80's. I'm a blues and classic rock home player and I want a Strat badly.

I think I'm going to start with a Saylor one piece alder body. I'm not a big whammy bar kind of guy, so I may even go hardtail, though I know they aren't as popular, this one is just for me. Maybe a Muskicraft neck, not sure on pups yet. Maybe Fat 50's or Seymour Duncan's. If I'm going to spend the time to build the thing I want to make sure I use good components.

I'm sure I will be back here asking some questions. I've built a lot of things, including estates and wineries that have ended up in magazines, but I've never built a guitar. I've swapped pups, rewired, etc., but this will be my first build. I have to say I'm really excited about it.

2. Guy Named Sue

Guy Named Sue Beer me up Scotty Strat-Talk Supporter

Feb 11, 2015
    Sweden
    Awesome Can't wait to see the progress! Be sure to post lots of pictures!

drysideshooter likes this.

3. drysideshooter

Feb 25, 2018
    eastern WA