Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

How many miles to kill a clutch??

Discussion in 'Sidewinders Bar & Grille' started by Dadocaster, Jul 11, 2018.

1. Dadocaster

Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

Last week I noticed slipping and revs going up when I pushed the gas pedal and then finally slowing down to catch up. I am not a mechanical genius but that neon sign in my brain saying "CLUTCH!!" was blinking on and off like crazy. I drive a nicely underpowered 4cyl Nissan Frontier which I bought because owners reported them to be mostly bulletproof. This clutch fail occurred at 73k miles which seems a little early, but I do drive in rush hour traffic on the way home from work in the morning and here in the Dallas area, you can find yourself in stop and go any time any route.

Now I have to learn to drive again. I guess I was used to a lot of slip. Now I am popping the clutch and going "wheeee!"

2. rich815

rich815 Strat-O-Master

It depends on your skill in shifting gears and riding the clutch. I remember clutches going on me around 80-90k in the day I drove shift cars. Had a gf who rode her clutch something fierce and she blew it out in 50k.

apm1991 likes this.
  3. henderman

henderman Most Honored Senior Member

Dec 4, 2013
    largo,fl
    Been a long time, but there is usually an adjustment to get the "gription" back with a manual clutch.

Google the trucks year and model and add clutch adjustment and see....

Bob the builder and rgbedard like this.
  4. Rastus

Rastus Senior Stratmaster

Jan 1, 2014
    Australia
    Yo,

It's all about driver habit, environment & the quality of the parts fitted.

60,000 miles for a "city" car would be an average ball-park figure however IMO...Sometimes it's not the friction material that's worn away, but failed diaphragm springs, & or throw-out-bearings etc etc...