Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Josfina Hand-wound 65 Strat Pickups..any experiences ?

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by nayoud, Nov 12, 2017 at 12:12 PM.

1. nayoud

nayoud Strat-Talk Member

Sep 16, 2008
    Bethesda-MD
    I'm looking at a masterbuilt strat with these pickups in it. Any experiences with them, I was told that they're somewhere between an early 60's strat tone and a 1969 set, a little mid scooped.

Any comments are welcome .....

abnormaltoy likes this.

2. Sarnodude

Sarnodude Senior Stratmaster

Sep 26, 2015
    Mukilteo
    Look for the Greg Koch interview on Youtube. I have no personal experience with them but I'm sure lots of strat-talkers will be willing to give their opinions. Ultimately your ears and wallet will determine which pickups work for you.

abnormaltoy likes this.

3. nayoud

nayoud Strat-Talk Member

Sep 16, 2008
    Bethesda-MD
    Thanks ... there seems to be more than one incarnation of the 1965 strat pickup in the fender line over the years....apparently all slightly different ...will search for Greg's vid (attached after edit).
    Cheers

Last edited: Nov 12, 2017 at 1:30 PM

4. nayoud

nayoud Strat-Talk Member

Sep 16, 2008
    Bethesda-MD
    I actually don't know why a master builder will call his strat a "1963" then put 65 pups in it ...

Will Lefeurve likes this.

5. Will Lefeurve

Will Lefeurve Senior Stratmaster

Mar 1, 2016
    England & France
    Simple.. he never quite 'mastered' numeracy.. ;):whistling:

vlxerdon and vid1900 like this.

6. nayoud

nayoud Strat-Talk Member

Sep 16, 2008
    Bethesda-MD
    In a market that's very vintage spec aware, it seems strange!

Last edited: Nov 12, 2017 at 1:36 PM

7. Paperback Rocker

Paperback Rocker Nitro-mancer

Sep 18, 2014
    Victoria TX