Warmoth.com Amplified Parts darrenriley.com Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts darrenriley.com Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts darrenriley.com Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Neck and Bridge pickups together

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by asc67, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. asc67

    asc67 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Is there a way to wire the Strat switch so you can get both Bridge and Neck pickup at the same time ala mid position on a Tele ?
     
  2. Axis29

    Axis29 Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    48
    Messages:
    716
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Location:
    Stafford, Virginia
    Not a stock 5-way. But you can pick up a Super switch and do it. These are installed in the CP50's strats. This method looses one other position however.

    A better option is to get a push-pull pot and wire it so you can turn the bridge pickup on in any switch position.

    I am seriously contemplating changin my CP50's strat to this configuration. I like the bridge and neck pickups on together, but miss the fat quack of the middle and neck pickups together.
     
  3. thaus

    thaus Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    9,835
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    London Canada
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. ArlenBucy

    ArlenBucy Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    31
    Messages:
    1,549
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Plant City, FL
    I was gonna say blender as well. That way can blend just a little of the neck in or all of it. Or none of it. You can also have all three pups with this too.
     
  6. patl

    patl Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    47
    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Which position is usually lost?
     
  7. PorkRollExpress

    PorkRollExpress Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    ^^ If it's done via the switch, you'll lose a position. Which one? Well, whichever configuration you choose to eliminate, in favor of wiring this one in it's place.

    If it's with a Blend pot, you have no such problem. you would best wire the first tone as a master, though, because the blend pot replaces the lower tone pot
     
  8. asc67

    asc67 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thanks, So with the blender the top tone control works for all three pickup and the lower tone/ blender blends in the Bridge pickup plus whatever other pickup is on the selector switch ?
     
  9. GregP

    GregP Strat-Talker

    Age:
    60
    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Surrey, B.C.
    You can do blending with just a Fender no-load pot? I am not doubting you, I just didn't realize it could be done with one of those, I thought there was a specific pot for it. Hmm, I just happen to have a few of the Fender no-loads around right now waiting to go in my Strats, I may have to give this a try and see how it works.

    Thanks!

    ...Greg
     
  10. PorkRollExpress

    PorkRollExpress Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Yep. But you have to purposely wire the top tone control to affect all pickups.

    Some strats (say, MIM standard) have: Master Volume, Tone 1. (Neck Pickup), and
    Tone 2. (Middle Pickup).

    You'd have to send the M and B pickups to that tone#1 pot in addition to adding the blended.
     
  11. DRJIMMIE

    DRJIMMIE Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    pleasant valley ny
    Buy a 250k pushpull pot you can use it for any pot you can find the wiring diagram on dimarzio's web site or rothstein guitars. I use it on one of my strats . I'm very happy with it
     
  12. hendrixfan

    hendrixfan Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    45
    Messages:
    1,686
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    England
  13. Sprocket

    Sprocket Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    2,868
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    De'ville, Florida
    To the original poster, PM me with your address and I will send you my blender set up(switch, pots, & cap wired and ready to go) its only months old in my partscaster...Ive tried Keystones and now Tex-Mex in there, maybe something with a hotter bridge pup would work better for me...but none the less Im over it and ready to go back to more standard Strat wiring.
    In another forum, before doing the mod myself, Id read a gentleman refer to it as "it sounds much better on paper"...and I find this best describes it, even though others may disagree(they dont have to play my guitar)...

    ...so its free to the original poster(if you want it, just PM me) and this will give me the motivation to get the ball rollin on my project.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Lowdown

    Lowdown Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    466
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    Good on you Sprocket! That's the spirit.
     
  15. DRJIMMIE

    DRJIMMIE Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    pleasant valley ny
    http://www.guitar-mod.com/wiring/neck_on_howto.gif
    I TRIED TO GET THIS LINK TO WORK FOR YOU BUT HERES THE ADDRESS.
    JUST WIRE THE POT SIDE AS NORMAL POT .
    FOLLOW WIRING DIAGRAM TO WIRE SWITCH NOW YOU HAVE 7 POSITIONS.
    PULL UP POT WHEN ON POS. 1 NOW NECK AND BRIDGE ARE ON MOVE TO 2 NOW ALL PUPS ARE ON. PUSH SWITCH DOWN AND YOU'RE BACK TO NORMAL.IT TRULEY WORKS GREAT. HOPE THIS HELPED
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2009
  16. stratagem

    stratagem Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    494
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    College Station, TX
  17. moondance360

    moondance360 Strat-O-Master

    Messages:
    503
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx.
    Blender Pot wiring diagram for neck pickup.
    [​IMG]

    The Classic 50s Player Strat is wired with a 5-way Super Switch. Sadly, Fender does not share the schematic for this online. However, I will......
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. midifarm

    midifarm Commercial Suspension

    Messages:
    1,795
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis
  19. Toadlc

    Toadlc Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento
  20. GoranS

    GoranS Strat-Talker

    Age:
    59
    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
  21. tombhoy

    tombhoy New Member!

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    U. K.
    Re-Neck and Bridge pickups together

    I have installed a 3 way rotary switch on my 62 Strat re-issue.
    The top tone control is wired to all 3 pickups i e a master tone control.
    The bottom tone control has been removed and replaced with a 3 way rotary switch.
    1 Fully anticlockwise as - normal Strat.
    2 Middle position - Adds Bridge pickup to 5 way switch.
    3 Fully clockwise - Adds Bridge and Middle pickups as a series Humbucker to a 5 way switch.
    The best bit about this modification is with the Volume and Tone knobs,it looks like a normal Strat and no one knows the difference until you start using the rotary switch. I've played many a gig when other guitarists try to work out how I can get my Strat to sound like a Tele or how my Strat pickups sound like Humbuckers.
    Hope this information helps.
    Tombhoy
     

Share This Page