Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

playing a little bit of jazz

Discussion in 'Sidewinders Bar & Grille' started by montemerrick, Feb 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. montemerrick

montemerrick spiritual birthday, April 1 Strat-Talk Supporter

i was thinking about jazz - i think about it a lot - and thought it might be nice to have a thread dedicated to playing some, with or without backing tracks, and discussion of technique and theory as wanted... the idea is to be a supportive environment for those who love the music and have interest in playing it... i'm a very novice jazz player - hell, i've been goofing around with guitars for close to 40 years and i'm a novice guitarist period (as those who've heard me play can testify...)

in any case, while i exert no control over this thread once i post it, i hope that it doesn't attract a bunch of naysayers etc... if you don't dig jazz that's cool, but please don't yuck this thread's yum...

and that said

here's a tune i think about a lot... written by Bobby Womack, first arranged by Womack and Gabor Szabo on Szabo's 1971 release High Contrast, the tune was turned into a megahit by George Benson in 1976...

so Womack, Szabo and Benson - that's three mighty fine guitar players famously associated with this tune:

here's a backing track:

2. rolandson

rolandson Most Honored Senior Member

I often think of jazz as blues with a lot of ∆7 (major 7th) and m6 (minor 6th)...simplistic, but it keeps me honest.

The-Kid, alderre, Nate D and 3 others like this.
  3. Dadocaster

Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

Great tune. May have to put in effort and try to learn it. It's jazzy enough for boyo, funky enough for the both of us.

montemerrick likes this.
  4. fezz parka

fezz parka Duke of DILLIGAF Strat-Talk Supporter

Apr 21, 2011
    Right behind you...