Join Strat-Talk Today

Pro Tools mystery - Input Monitoring always on

Discussion in 'Home Recording Studio' started by TheDuck, Sep 3, 2018.

  1. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    14,355
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary
    Stockholm syndrome is a condition that causes hostages to develop a psychological alliance with their captors as a survival strategy during captivity.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    I think there might be a great deal of people that use Windows for one apllication, either as a VM or on a separate partition.
    And then there are all the rest.
     
  3. fezz parka

    fezz parka The Return of the Red Helmet Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    60
    Messages:
    18,142
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Where the road and the sky collide.
    I have a bulletproof system that runs on.......Snow Leopard. :)
     
    TheDuck likes this.
  4. Mr. Lumbergh

    Mr. Lumbergh needs you to go ahead and come in on Sunday, too. Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    24,855
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Initech, Inc.
    I refer to my Win 7 install as “Wintendo.” Gaming is literally the only thing it gets used for, and now that Steam has been ported to Linux...
    Tick-tock.
     
  5. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    14,355
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary
    OMG at 4:45pm Texas Time I put up an post claiming that Avid is holding The Duck prisoner. At 4:48 an email from Avid appeared in my inbox. I am too frightened to open it.
     
  6. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    aaarrhh, you make light of this but it is pretty much how it happens. You get so invested in a certain product that it becomes a major decision to shift away.
    I was just about to buy an 11R when Bandcamp started giving away Cakewalk - the product I have used since the beginning.

    Having tried a few others, they all kinda do the same thing so the thought of spending a great deal of time learning which button to press to do what I used to do was daunting.

    It is kind of a hostage situation. Stuck between "rock'n'roll" and a hard place.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018
    TheDuck likes this.
  7. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    14,355
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary
    I have an 11r but I bought a free range (used) unit to avoid being enslaved. With the free Editor Download I can do what I need to do and it was damned cheap.
     
    roger@pennyflic likes this.
  8. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    Sadly, in Australia, they are damned expensive :(. Especially compared to a free DAW. Especially compared to telling the wife, after just buying another guitar, that I wanted to spend $1,000 on something else. Not sure if you guys in 'merica really appreciate how cheap your stuff is over there. Soooo jealous.:oops:
     
  9. Mr. Lumbergh

    Mr. Lumbergh needs you to go ahead and come in on Sunday, too. Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    24,855
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Initech, Inc.
    Mate, it’s better to have healthcare, trust me.
     
    Cerb, roger@pennyflic and TheDuck like this.
  10. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    14,355
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary

    Sssshhhhhhhhhhh
     
    Cerb likes this.
  11. TheDuck

    TheDuck Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    53
    Messages:
    6,998
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Location:
    Lil' Rhody
    Clever @Dadocaster :cool:
    @roger@pennyflic - The only way to stop Win 10 from updating is to take the machine offline. Otherwise, no matter what options you uncheck, the OS will just ignore you.

    I think some of you misunderstand what started all this. It was Apple, not Avid, and though I have no love loss for either, PT is a large part if how I make a living.

    If it were just a hobby, I would have stayed with Logic.

    My PC is rumning PT12 without a hitch, and Ive done a “brute force” rollback install of OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan on my Mac.
    Something Apple does everything in their power to stop, but f*ck them, its MY computer :mad:

    Either way, PT and me will keep on keepin’ on. What OS Im using is a distant second on my consideration list.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018
  12. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    14,355
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary
    I did not misunderstand and my characterization is not inaccurate. So it was Apple......this time. :D

    Avid: It rubs the DAW on it's skin or it gets the hose again!!
     
    TheDuck likes this.
  13. TheDuck

    TheDuck Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    53
    Messages:
    6,998
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Location:
    Lil' Rhody
    If it were up to me, Id still be using a Fostex four track with a Marshall half stack mic’d in the closet.


    Ahhhhh .... (begins singing Memories)

    Modern conveniences are great, but they come with a price.
     
    Cerb likes this.
  14. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    I got a bit lost there @duck.

    I understood that you are moving across to Windows cuz everything works on that, but got lost whether you identified where the problem actually lay.
    Can you give us a quick recap for the slow minded (me) ??. Where was the actual fault. ?
     
  15. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    Yeah, I think your right.
    Funny thing is, my daughter is the UK and if you need to see a doctor you make an appointment 3 weeks out. Weird.

    Was that an 11R or a triple bypass sir ??
     
  16. TheDuck

    TheDuck Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    53
    Messages:
    6,998
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Location:
    Lil' Rhody
    @roger@pennyflic - After exhaustive research and testing, I concluded the latest OS X update broke PT.

    Its well documented on Avids forums. Not all users land on the chopping block, but I did.

    Its partially my fault for allowing the update, but in my defense, how was I to know?
     
    duzie and roger@pennyflic like this.
  17. ProSonicLive

    ProSonicLive Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    35
    Messages:
    2,432
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    Thats cool. If you have a reason for staying, it's not an issue, especially if you colab with others, but for a one man operation there is no reason to not consider others as well when considering PTs.
     
  18. TheDuck

    TheDuck Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    53
    Messages:
    6,998
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Location:
    Lil' Rhody
    Quick info update for Mac users.
    You Windows and Linux guys can read it too :D

    Pro Tools 12 2018.7 running great on Mac OS El Capitan 10.11.6 :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
    Forced rollback corrected the issue.

    Apple does everything in their power to stop users from reverting to an older OS, but it can be done.
    Avid is aware of the bug, and has not yet certified High Sierra 10.13.6 for PT12 2018.7

    Seems if I had read the Avid pages before I allowed the OS update, I could have spared myself a metric sh*t ton of misery.
    You would think after almost twenty years of computer use I'd know better. :thumbd:
    Kudos to you guys running older Mac OS on your machines. I never fully understood why many people never update, but I certainly get it now.
    My Mac will run El Capitan until it's dying day. I'll never allow another OS update on this machine.

    Live and learn ...
     
  19. BallisticSquid

    BallisticSquid Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    3,418
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    US
    A few years ago there was a seller selling them on Ebay that were new but didn't include the ProTools license. I paid $280 I think. I checked periodically back and they would have hundreds of them for sale.

    Sweetwater is selling them much cheaper now also. They are kind of long in the tooth at this point despite how awesome they are.

    Not sure how shipping to Australia impacts things....perhaps that's what sends it over the edge.

    I need to dig in with mine again. I got so focused on fine tuning my tone on my GT-100 for my band I haven't spent time with my 11R.

    @TheDuck Glad to hear you got this mess straightened out. What you went through is why I never update/upgrade unless I'm forced to. The PC I use for music is still running Windows 8. Windows 10 for free? Thanks, but no thanks...I'm good. :)
     
    TheDuck likes this.
  20. roger@pennyflic

    roger@pennyflic Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    2,054
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    melbourne
    Congratulations @duck you deserve a medal for persistance.
    At least you've had a happy ending.
    Now unplug that ethernet cable and never let an upgrade darken your doorstep again.

    P.S. I wonder why they call them "UPGRADES"
     
    TheDuck likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.