Join Strat-Talk Today

Setup for an Apartment

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by charby, Mar 14, 2019.

1. charby

charby Strat-Talk Member

Hi everyone, I've been lurking for a while but this is my first time posting (kinda creepy right?!)

Anyway, I'm finally making the dive into buying my first Stratocaster. I currently own a MIM tele that I'm playing through a fender champion 20.

Initially I was planning on splitting my budget towards a strat and amp (MIM classic series strat with blues jr), but I don't know if this is the best idea as I am moving into an apartment soon. Does anyone have experience living in an apartment with a smaller tube amp? How much will my neighbors hate me?

Due to this issue, I'm leaning towards buying an American Professional and keeping my current amp. I know I won't get my desired tone out of the guitar but at least I can play through headphones and at lower volumes. With this option I'll be able to save up for blues jr when I don't live in an apartment anymore.

I've gone to my local guitar centre and played both the MIM and MIA... and I LOVE the American Pro. My dilemma is that I know it is more practical to get a better amp... but will I actually be able to use it?

Any opinions on the best setup for a small apartment? Sorry if this is asked a lot on this forum, but I wanted feedback on my situation :)

93-Strat and Namelyguitar like this.
  2. Stratoskater

Stratoskater Most Honored Senior Member

The blues jr. has a master volume so you will be able to tame it but IMO tube amps sound best when cranked up and if you are using a master vol to keep it at apartment volume levels you might as well stick with your Solid State amp and get the nicer guitar.

jvin248, Yves, brians and 1 other person like this.
  3. dbolt

dbolt Strat-O-Master Strat-Talk Supporter