Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

So how do you even get started with all this?

Discussion in 'Home Recording Studio' started by velvet_man, Sep 10, 2018.

1. velvet_man

velvet_man Strat-O-Master

Sep 7, 2016
    Vancouver
    TL;DR: I'm a total noob at this and could use a pointer to some good tutorials on where to get started, especially with particular reference to Garageband since that's what I have access to.

OK, this is going to be long, so I apologize.

I've been trying to cobble something together in Garageband for a couple of weeks now, and it's sounding sort of OK but nowhere near good. And I'm finding I'm just running into more questions all the time, and all of the tutorials and things I've found online haven't been all that helpful. I tried searching this forum to see if there was anything already posted about how to get started, but I couldn't find anything.

So, how do I get started with home recording?

Right now, I have a Macbook Pro with Garageband that seems to be able to do what I need, though I don't know how to do most of it. I also have an amp with USB out, which lets me record even if it's taking me a while to figure out how to get a decent sound recorded. I had been using this very basic setup, and I used the octaver Garageband to add a bass line with my guitar, and I used the built-in drummer (this "drummer" named Jesse seems to be doing an OK job holding down a beat for me) to add a beat.

So I get some stuff recorded, hit play and it's all out of whack volumewise. So I adjust the volume sliders on each track to get it sounding somewhat good. Then I'm working on it later that night, so I plug some in headphones, and now it sounds all out of whack again. So I readjust the sliders and it sounds good. Unplug the headphones, sounds like crap again. And so on...