Join Strat-Talk Today

<SOLVED>No Sound PRRI 65 Need Help

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by D_Kita, Feb 10, 2019.

1. D_Kita

D_Kita Strat-Talk Member

Was working fine until a few hours ago, but plugged into find that it makes no sound. Amp jewel lights up as usual. Checked with different guitar jacks still no sound. Complete noob to the technical side of amps so go easy on me.

2. rolandson

rolandson Most Honored Senior Member

speaker is plugged into the correct speaker jack? not the extension speaker jack...? and not the footswitch jack?

the guitar volume is turned up? don't laugh. it happens.

3. rolandson

duplicate.

4. D_Kita

D_Kita Strat-Talk Member

I haven’t touched anything on the back. So everything is plugged in the same way it was when it was working. Guitar volume is up. Tried using the same guitar into a different amp, and no problems.

5. sadmoodyfrazier

sadmoodyfrazier Strat-Talker

I've seen thousand times amps not working for the speaker dying. Keep an eye to that. Anyway Fender RI crumbles by themselves. Not new to me. I've fixed hundreds of DR, PR and TR because of cold soldering joints, failing speakers or reverbs.

6. rolandson

you say you are inexperienced with amp electronics?then it's time to take it to a shop.

messing around inside can do damage...to you and to it.

How old is it?

7. D_Kita

D_Kita Strat-Talk Member

Any way to check that the speaker is the problem?

8. D_Kita

D_Kita Strat-Talk Member

I’m not going to go messing around inside it. Just trying to see if there was an easy fix as the shop is far away. I’m not too sure how old it is, will have to check. Got it used.

9. sadmoodyfrazier

You should use a multimeter to check the speaker impedance. You should have the reading. If you don't have any reading or you have a shorted reading there is the problem. The other way is to hook up the amp to another (compatible impedance and power) speaker and see if plays.

10. sadmoodyfrazier