Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Squier Standard Strat Upgrade Advice

Discussion in 'Squier Strat Forum' started by Shaolindelt, Feb 12, 2018.

1. Shaolindelt

Shaolindelt Strat-Talk Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Kentucky
    8369BAEF-0BE3-446B-A43E-8EC14DCEA001.jpeg I am new here and I’m combing through the forums now, but figured I’d have some specific questions that might be worth its own thread. So, this is definitely in the upgrade/advice thread. I’ll try to be clear and any advice is welcome!

First - I have a Squier Standard Strat (Cherry Sunburst) I picked up used. First guitar, and I love the feel. The guitar was setup well when I got it, low action, intonated, and holds its tuning quite well.

I’m an advanced beginner guitarist, have mainly focused on my guitar playing for a few years and now just starting to look at the technical side and kind of want to play around a bit and learn more. I have a Fender Mustang GT amp and love the modeling features as its helping to teach me a lot about pedals and amps I’d like to get in the future.

I have a PRS Angelus acoustic and would like to add some more electrics at some point down the line. Specifically, I’d like to pick up a Les Paul style, an HSS Strat and probably an MIA Strat (SSS) just because. I’ve played some $1000+ guitars and liked them, but I will say, I like the feel of my Squier and would like to keep it around anyway as my “first” as I think it’s a solid guitar.

However, I would like to upgrade it and learn more about everything involved in it so when I get to the MIA Strat I can make better decisions and upgrades. :) I won’t be selling this guitar off, so not too worried about resale but rather using this as a place to play and learn.