Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

String gauge question

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by D_Kita, Oct 26, 2017.

1. D_Kita

D_Kita Strat-Talk Member

Oct 21, 2017
    Japan
    Sorry for all the posts, but I’m new to this guitar thing and am a curious person.
    I looked up some posts but none fit my exact situation.
    My guitar came from the shop with what I believe are 9 gauge strings. I feel like I want to go up to 10s or 10.5. I don’t have a floating bridge. Vintage fretboard radius and fret wire.
    My question is, will I have a problem with the action? It is currently set up to be pretty low. And will I need to make truss rod adjustments?

2. TheDuck

TheDuck Most Honored Senior Member

Jan 12, 2016
    Lil' Rhody
    You may have to raise the action slightly, and possibly tighten the truss rod.
    You wont know until you install the heavier strings, though either way, its a simple and minor adjustment.

NOTE: Dont buy into the hype, or bulls*** as I call it, that heavier strings play better, sound fatter, etc;, etc.
    Its just not true.
    Many players prefer heavier strings, and you might too, but dont go in believing they are something they aren't. You can do anything and everything with light strings that you can do with heavier gauges.

Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
    s5tuart, 2-Finger, Hal Nico and 5 others like this.

3. suncrush

suncrush Senior Stratmaster

Mar 25, 2014
    Pittsburgh
    Going further, since you're new to guitar, I'd find the string weight you like, then drop the $50 for a professional setup. There can be a million things a little out-of-whack, and banging them all in as a newbie can be very difficult. Well worth getting a pro to do it.