Join Strat-Talk Today

Used American standard 2014 or new player?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Karol, Mar 4, 2019.

Which strat?

1. New player + hard case

7 vote(s)
    11.1%
  2. Used 2014 American standard + hard case

56 vote(s)
    88.9%
  1. Karol

Karol New Member!

Hi there,

I'm new to strats (I have a Gretsch now) - I only dreamt about having one but I always thought I would only go for a Mexican.

Now though found something used and will be seeing it in the coming weekend. The guy is a private seller and promises that the guitar is in the excellent condition (one tiny dent only) and would sell it with an original hard case.

Assuming new player + hard case would cost exactly the same - which would you choose?

Also what should I look at when inspecting the used American standard?

2. AxemanVR

AxemanVR I appreciate, therefore I am... Strat-Talk Supporter

A 2014 Am Std Strat should have Fender’s “Custom Shop Fat 50s” pickups, which are vintage style, (ie: cloth wrapped wires, beveled pole pieces, fiber bobbins).

If the guy is willing to pull the pickguard then you can verify this.

It should also come with “aged white” pickup covers and knobs.

The second tone pot should be of a “no load” type that “sticks” when turn all the way up. When set this way it bypasses the tone control entirely, providing maximum brightness if so desired.

The bridge should be a 2-point type with stamped steel saddles.

The neckplate should have a little hole in the middle of it for the “Micro-Tilt” adjustment feature.

And when you play it you should sound like Eric Clapton (just kidding) ;)

Anyway, all that said, I’d personally try both and then decided which is better. Plus, there’s something special about buying new, knowing it’s yours and nobody else’s. On the other hand, if you’ve always wanted an Am Std then I can highly recommend that as well...

...just my 2 cents worth...

Last edited: Mar 4, 2019
  3. Stratoblaster