Warmoth.com Amplified Parts darrenriley.com Mod Kits Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups Reilander Pickups

Warmoth.com Amplified Parts darrenriley.com Mod Kits Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups Reilander Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

What to do with paint chip on a guitar?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by DeltaOneEight, Apr 27, 2011.

1. DeltaOneEight

DeltaOneEight Strat-Talk Member

Dec 29, 2010
    Hi everyone,

I was wondering what the best solution was on fixing paint chips on the body? My MIM strat has a poly coating and I didn't know what I should do. Should I sand it down?

I'm a complete newbie so any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone :D
  2. geetar

geetar Strat-O-Master

Dec 7, 2010
    hmm i assmued it would be nitro when i read this.

not sure what to do for poly, not much you can do. id just leave it be. you now own a reliced guitar ;)
  3. jimmiraz

jimmiraz Senior Stratmaster

Feb 3, 2010
    Buffalo NY
    Depending on the color and size of the chip, nail polish can be a good cheep fix.
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. sneakypete

sneakypete Senior Stratmaster

Feb 5, 2009
    I don`t know, I`ve never seen a home made repair to paint chips that looked convincing...get a few more and call it a relic.
  6. JayFreddy

JayFreddy Strat-O-Master

Sep 10, 2010
    Dallas TX
    +1. If you're lucky, the chip will be in an area that's all one color, for example, the black ridge at the edge of a sunburst.

Bring the guitar with you to your local cosmetics counter, that way you can compare the color side by side with the color of the guitar.

Just as with regular paint, the trick is multiple coats, and then sand between each coat. I used 400 grit sandpaper.

If you sand and then apply a fresh coat every night, most chips can be made nearly invisible after about a week.