1. Enter to Win one of two Strats we are giving away! An American Pro II Strat HSS and a Squier Classic Vibe Strat. To see the prizes and rules: https://www.strat-talk.com/pages/2020_Fundraiser_giveaway/ To enter: https://www.strat-talk.com/account/upgrades To enter, simply upgrade to silver (1 entry), gold (2 entries), platinum (5 entries), or double platinum supporting membership (10 entries). November 5th is the last day to enter!

£1000 to spend on a strat - what would you pick?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by dadjokes, Oct 17, 2020 at 5:07 AM.

1. dadjokes

dadjokes New Member!

Hi all, first post here!

I've been playing mostly humbuckers for 25 years, but recently picked up a Cornford Hurricane so I can keep playing in my home studio while gigging is off the table.

Realised I don't have any single coils, so looking to rectify that!

I've got 1000GBP to spend on a strat, used or new, I don't like chunky necks or vintage radiuses but other than that, I just want a strat that looks, feels and sounds like a strat!

The model ranges are bewildering, so would really appreciate your opinions on what you'd recommend!

Jerseystratfiend and Tsjackson like this.
  2. Buzzgrowl

Buzzgrowl Strat-Talker

2nd hand American Special. No chunky neck, 9.5 radius, tone pot on the bridge PU. Only downside is large 70s head if that's not your "look". Pickups slightly hotter than "classic". 6 screw trem.

Buying new means you are throwing away 259£ the moment the guitar leaves the shop.

Stratafied likes this.
  3. Blue Beagle

Blue Beagle Strat-O-Master

Used American Standard if you find one in good condition on Reverb or eBay. Looking about £700-900.

I had an American Professional and found it a bit 'meh'.

Also had an American Special that I didn't like as it had the big headstock, 6 screw trem and I didn't care for the Texas Special pickups.