10 gauge strings too heavy

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by StevenCH, Apr 15, 2021.

Tags:
  1. StevenCH

StevenCH New Member!

I've been using 10 gauge strings for 3 years up to this point. Even though it's been so long, it still makes playing the guitar quite uncomfortable for me. The strings feel heavy, bends and vibrato are hard and I've been playing guitar for more than 10 years but I felt like I couldn't do **** on my instrument. Two days ago I switched back to 9's and there's a hell of a difference. My guitar is much easier to play, the strings don't hold me back and I rediscovered my touch, which was something I couldn't fully have when playing with 10's. I feel a lot better about my playing now and I'm not ''afraid'' of my guitar anymore.

The weird thing is that I spent so much time playing with 10's and I couldn't seem to get comfortable with them. I just did it because people say that anything thinner than that is a big compromise in tone. But I think I'm gonna stick with 9's now since they make playing feel much more natural and easy. Any thoughts on what could be the reason I struggled so much with 10's?

2. sam_in_cali

sam_in_cali Scream for me Strat-Talk! Silver Member

[​IMG]

J/k..no shame in playing 9's...play what is comfortable! Why work harder than you have to??

Oren, JDawg0427, Anacharsis and 36 others like this.
  3. Cerb

Cerb Anti conformist reformist

Yeah, that's the problem.

And that is a bunch of crap ;)

10's are harder. Even if you get used to them there will always be stuff you can do with lighter strings that you can't do with the heavier strings.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
    CAR63, Anacharsis, Multitrak and 28 others like this.
  4. dirocyn

dirocyn Senior Stratmaster