1962 style Pickups - 57/62 vs Fat 60s!

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by ForeverFabFour, Jun 29, 2020 at 7:31 PM.

1. ForeverFabFour

ForeverFabFour Strat-Talk Member

So I will admit that I am a complete noob when it comes to single coil Strat pickups. Humbuckers and PAFs are more my wheelhouse. But anyway, I recently made my own replica of the Rocky Stratocaster that George Harrison owned. The original guitar is a 1962 Stratocaster and I have mainly stuck to that recipe so everything is accurate. The last parts I need are the Pickups. I've been overwhelmed with the choice of pick ups available. I've mainly been looking at ones produced by Fender to make things a little easier, but I'm open to other suggestions. I am kind of stuck between the Original ’57/’62 Strat® Pickups and the Custom Shop Fat '60s Stratocaster® Pickups. I'd like to stick around a budget of $200 or less if possible. Does anyone have any recommendations for a set or thoughts on the pick ups I am currently looking at?

PCollen and mutato like this.
  2. Agtronic

Agtronic Strat-Talker

It seems to be universally agreed upon that the 57/62 set is hard to beat. Plus it's from Fender. Plus it's not a CS item. I've never actually tried them, but I constantly hear about how great they are.

ForeverFabFour and mikej89 like this.
  3. mikej89

mikej89 Senior Stratmaster

Another vote for the 57/62 set. People rave about them and they are a great value. Oddly enough, they're actually based on a 1963 Strat pup I've heard. I have no idea what the difference is between a '62 and '63 pup as far as materials, winding, etc.

4. JohnMac

JohnMac Strat-Talker

A timely thread for me. I just picked up an '06 AVRI '62 Strat and was wondering what pickups might be most period correct. Not that there's anything wrong with the stock ones. For all I know they're 57/62s.

5. mutato

mutato Senior Stratmaster