Any Hybrid pickers out there?

Discussion in 'Tab & Music Forum' started by amstratnut, Jan 19, 2010.

1. amstratnut

amstratnut Peace thru Music.

I'm just starting to learn this and it has really opened up the guitar for me. A huge part of what I stumble on is crossing strings with a pick and using my fingers is not as fast yet, but crossing strings is no problem. In fact it sounds better.

2. Doggiecow

Doggiecow New Member!

I am also starting to learn

Its just hard for me to find songs that utilize it so I could practice. I really like the way it sounds though

3. amstratnut

I find I can use it in blues pretty well. Not like the country guys, but kind of snappy alternating string licks.

4. srvwannab

srvwannab Senior Stratmaster

Yes, I use a little hybrid picking on acoustic mainly, Bron-yr-Aur, Babe, Black Mountain Side, Going to California, anything Jimmy Page.

I don't use it really on electric that much because it doesn't come as easy for me on electric for some reason, but I can see what a great value it is to learn that way. I think using the pick btwn the index and thumb and using the free fingers for double stop slides (for example) and popping is a great way to warm up your tone and create texture.

EDIT: Warren Haynes!

5. muso.greg

muso.greg Strat-Talker

I use hybrid picking in most of my playing. I find it helps get the Mark Knofler style of attack (which I guess makes sense as I understand he is a finger player - I've tried that and can't get good enough at it on an electric, but I do use it on acoustic). Hybrid picking gives me more light and shade. I find the pick still gived me options with the attack that I can't get with my finger (pinched harmonics, etc) but I can use the hybrid style to do non-natural harmonics and octave runs that I can't do with a pick alone. I haven't found too many 'signature' type songs for rock/blues hybrid picking but I suspect there are a lot of players who use it at least some of the time.