Any Thoughts On a Good Crowning File, Aside From A Three Sided File?

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by tmonkjr, Sep 12, 2020.

1. tmonkjr

tmonkjr Strat-Talk Member

Im looking to purchase a Crowning File, I'm somewhat new to Crowning, but have learned to care for my guitars from a good Luthier who is no longer reachable. Does anyone have any thoughts on what a good first Crowning tool would be, one for a variety of guitars? I'm well aware that Fret gauge has a lot to do with what file, but if there were one, and not a three sided file, triangular file, which would you recommend?
    So far the StewMac Z files are looking good, but each one seems to have a weakness, and they are quite costly. Any thoughts?

2. lbpesq

lbpesq Strat-Talker

StummerJoe and tmonkjr like this.
  3. telepraise

telepraise Strat-Talker

I don't own a Z file but do have diamond crowning files in a couple of different sizes. With the great reviews they get, I'm betting one of the Z files would be a safe bet. Philadelphia Luthier Tools and Supplies has some much more reasonable options. I find 300 grit to be the sweet spot.

tmonkjr likes this.
  4. Ebidis

Ebidis Providing the world with flat bends since 1985 Strat-Talk Supporter

Stew Mac is crazy. Over $100 for a file?!

Here are many alternatives.

https://www.amazon.com/fret-crowning-file/s?k=fret+crowning+file&tag=strattalk05-20

Thrup'ny Bit and StummerJoe like this.
  5. mapleglo

mapleglo Senior Stratmaster Silver Member

fretting.jpg

I have a bunch of crowning files. It really depends on what kind of crowning you are doing. If you are doing a complete fret level and then crowning, I'd suggest a standard crowning file, something like one of these. If you are just touching your frets up, those diamond crowning files at the bottom of my pic do a great job.