Join Strat-Talk Today

Anyone else doubt they'll buy another Fender guitar?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Ruscio, Nov 5, 2019.

1. Ruscio

Ruscio Strat-O-Master

I've owned Fender guitars for more than 30 years, but I doubt I'll buy another. This isn't a protest, and I've had no bad experiences. They're just not evolving, even with their "modern" lines. And I'm not into "vintage" anything, so I guess Fender isn't very serious about folks like me. That makes me wonder how rare my tastes might be.

I liked the Fender Elite strats of recent years almost enough to buy one. The compound radius is cool--but not at all unique to Fender. The contoured heel is alright--but not as good as most other brands'. You name it: The ___ is nice--but not as nice as those of brands X, Y, and Z.

I wanted so much to see the Fender Ultra strats offer something more so that I could consider buying a Fender. Today is such a letdown. I wanted SS frets, or high-output pickups, or I don't know, something at least a little bit modern, or innovative, or exciting in some way. Other than an oddly shaped (and functionally useless) carve surrounding the heel, what did we get? Nothing much, nothing at all?

I guess what I've learned today is that the only thing I love about a strat is the body shape. I keep coming back to my strats for their feel while playing. But there's not much that Fender has to offer that I even feel tempted to own.

Warmoth (and perhaps other) strat-style bodies and necks are much better in terms of options, and build quality is at least as good.

Any number of vendors offer better trem systems, whether locking or not.

You name it, part for part, someone else out there offers something as good as or better than Fender, usually with more options, higher quality, and/or for less money. Part of Leo's genius was making it super-easy for some ordinary person like me to screw the parts together for myself.