Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Behold my 1st home made Bass

Discussion in 'Ace's BASS Place' started by JP Lace Master, Jul 31, 2017.

1. JP Lace Master

JP Lace Master Strat-O-Master

Sep 23, 2013
    Kent
    DSCF0512.JPG DSCF0513.JPG DSCF0518.JPG DSCF0517.JPG As some may know I am a builder and player of guitars and although I've made a double neck Bass/Guitar hybrid, I have not made a proper bass before, so I built one today.

The body is a 14 inch long Empty Chocolate Tin with a solid 18.5 Inch length of Pine going through the centre of it for strength and for mounting everything.

The neck came from an old Encore P-bass, made of a nice bit of Maple and has a 20 fret Rosewood fretboard.

The electrics are very simple (or at least would be with they were bloody working). The pickup is a Artec Bass Humbucker wired into a single B250k pot for volume control and that wired into a jack.

The bridge is a Wilkinson and has Brass saddles, I haven't intonated it, it ain't what I do.

Here's some pics, what you guys think?

vlxerdon, conehead, hornpiper and 7 others like this.

2. Thrup'ny Bit

Thrup'ny Bit Certified Curmudgeon Strat-Talk Supporter

Very nice. Better than the original body. :) The necks were usually the best part on those things. How's the weight distribution?

3. JP Lace Master

Sep 23, 2013
    Kent
    The neck is a beauty, but its heavy and despite the amount of pine in the body, it is still a hollow tin. when you sit and play this thing you really have to support the neck, but its comfortable despite that

Thrup'ny Bit likes this.

4. veehotel

veehotel Strat-Talker

Apr 21, 2016
    NL