Join Strat-Talk Today

Best EQ Pedal?

Discussion in 'The Effect effect' started by Nate D, Feb 8, 2019.

  1. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    Out. At least that’s what I assume you’re asking. I’m having to EQ before I get to the DI box
     
  2. Stratoskater

    Stratoskater Fuzz Meister General Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    44
    Messages:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    Running with Scissors
    So from the DI are you going to a board or to the pa? I’m guessing either should have EQ controls. When I’ve used a DI I’ve gone to a mixing board then out to FOH. We use the board to cut or EQ anything needed from the guitar. My OMJM has no volume or tone control on it, just straight out from the piezo so I’m very dependent on a board for Amy EQ needed.
     
    Nate D likes this.
  3. fezz parka

    fezz parka Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    23,340
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    ** **** ****** ***
    Spell out the signal path. Guitar-----> ?
     
    Nate D likes this.
  4. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    Guitar->tuner->DI->mixing board->house
     
  5. fezz parka

    fezz parka Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    23,340
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    ** **** ****** ***
    What are you using for a DI now?
     
  6. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    I’m not sure- whatever the house already has.
     
  7. fezz parka

    fezz parka Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    23,340
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    ** **** ****** ***
    Then what they have sucks. Probably something cheap like Behringer or Rolls.

    Get the Type 85. Send to the board and allows you to send to an amp. Do both.
     
    Nate D and Stratoskater like this.
  8. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    So are you saying I should get an acoustic amp too?
     
  9. fezz parka

    fezz parka Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    23,340
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    ** **** ****** ***
    No. Use your DR clone as a monitor for you and mic it. It'll sound huge.
     
    Nate D likes this.
  10. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    Will do.
     
    fezz parka likes this.
  11. Nate D

    Nate D Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    39
    Messages:
    6,296
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    I’m pretty sure I owe you some audio of Nate D playing.
     
    fezz parka likes this.
  12. Fender Fool

    Fender Fool Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    410
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I have a Baggs I-Beam in my D28. I use the Baggs Para DI. Had it for about 20 years now. Best $150 I ever spent.

    You need to check and see what the house is using. In my case , I needed eq before the board. The D28 is way boomy without the Para DI. It's basically a 4 band parametric EQ. So I can just drop the lows without much affecting the mids.

    When I ran straight into the board when I had the I-Beam installed, yes I had to cut the bass on the board, but the sound was just thin and lifeless.

    Not so with the Para DI. Sound is great now.

    Plus, with the any of the Baggs units, you'll have more control over your sound, no matter what venue. More gain too.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.