Blender Pot - Can I use a regular 250k tone pot?

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by Mikeylefty, Sep 17, 2021.

  1. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    . . . . or do I have to buy a "blender" pot? I want to try this mod on a strat, SSS.
     
  2. fezz parka

    fezz parka fezz parka

    Age:
    63
    Messages:
    32,950
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Nunyo, BZ
    Yes. That's what I do. Works fine.
     
    s5tuart and Groovey like this.
  3. JRSIV

    JRSIV Stuck in the Middle Position Silver Member

    Messages:
    284
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  4. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    thanks, I just found this link on this forum about the subject as well
    https://www.strat-talk.com/threads/can-a-normal-pot-do-blender-wiring.388604/
     
    JRSIV likes this.
  5. fezz parka

    fezz parka fezz parka

    Age:
    63
    Messages:
    32,950
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Nunyo, BZ
    A regular pot works fine.

    What they market as a blender pot is a no-load pot. But that's all marketing hooey.
     
    Believer7713 likes this.
  6. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    I also have a 500k pot and wondering if that might be preferable for the blender than the 250k?
     
  7. ThreeChordWonder

    ThreeChordWonder Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    56
    Messages:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    Either will do, although you'll get more reaction from a 500k pot, by which I mean turning the knob x degrees will have more effect on a 500k pot than a 250k pot.
     
    Mikeylefty likes this.
  8. ThreeChordWonder

    ThreeChordWonder Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    56
    Messages:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    If you're wiring a strat with one master volume, one master tone, and a blender, wire the volume and tone between the output from the switch and the output jack Telecaster style.

    You can then use the spare side if the 5-way blade switch to wire in the blender so it only works in P1 and P2 and self disconnects in P3 and P4. That also prevents you creating a loop back through the blender where the bridge becomes active in P4 and P5.
     
  9. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    Thanks, just downloaded a diagram from the Fralin website and will give it ago with the 250k pot.
     
  10. jvin248

    jvin248 Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,082
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Michigan
    .

    What you have will work fine. This is the blender I use (Armstrong Blender... SSS blends to HSH).

     
  11. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    Thanks for sending that. I think Im going to try the Armstrong mod.
     
  12. ChrisD

    ChrisD Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,856
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    Strat neck and bridge pickups together is pretty special sounding!
     
  13. guitarman1984

    guitarman1984 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    2,724
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location:
    Italy
    You could use a regular 250k no load pot. The no load in theory is cutting out completely the blend when you it's full open. frankly speaking I think this makes a 0.01% difference versus a regular 250k normal pot.
    I have this mod in my American standard 2012, which happened to have no load pots by the way. I modified the circuit so that the blender only works in position 1 and 2, while it's always excluded in the others. Here I was noodling with it....

     
    Mikeylefty likes this.
  14. JohnDH

    JohnDH Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    2,227
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Location:
    Wilton NSW Australia
    I've tried this mod, with a normal 250k pot, and then converting it to no-load. It works OK either way, but the final natural sparkle of a simple single-coil is only restored when the pot cuts out. Definitely a small but audible difference. It's not really that there is anything still mixing in from the neck, it's more about a bit of extra load on the bridge.

    A 500k would help this if not no-load. But the taper of a 250k is better for the blending because all the real blending action happens in the first few k, and a 250k spreads this across the first half turn. Then the last bit of difference happens in the second half and as it goes to no-load.

    But I'll add another just personal opinion:
    I think the N + B sound is good and worth having. But I didnt find anything very interesting as a mix through the range of blending. So for me, I'd prefer to get this sound through a switched connection.
     
    Hal Nico and Mikeylefty like this.
  15. Mikeylefty

    Mikeylefty Be Kind Silver Member

    Age:
    71
    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Location:
    SE USA
    Sounds very good. I just want to make sure i can still get the strat regular wiring position 2 sound.
     
  16. fezz parka

    fezz parka fezz parka

    Age:
    63
    Messages:
    32,950
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Nunyo, BZ

    This is all three on.



    This is the bridge only.




    You might hear a slight difference when played alone without a band, but in context it'll sound just likes Strat should.
     
  17. guitarman1984

    guitarman1984 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    2,724
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes you can of course
     
  18. ThreeChordWonder

    ThreeChordWonder Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    56
    Messages:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    You know you can always wire the blender through a push-pull (or push-push) so it cuts out completely when you don't want it.

    Just connect either the "in" wire to the pot to the push-pull switch, then connect a jumper to the pot terminal below.
     
  19. ThreeChordWonder

    ThreeChordWonder Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    56
    Messages:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    My take on the blender circuit.

    The blender only works in P-1 and P-2. It doesn't work in P-3, isn't needed in P-4 anyway, and P-5 is the neck only to begin with.
    SSS Strat Type Neck Blend w Push Push Self Defeats and No Bridge in P-3 to P-5.jpg
     
    Believer7713 likes this.
  20. AJBaker

    AJBaker Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    A normal pot works fine, but I like having the blender completely out of the circuit when not in use.

    A no load pot works, but it's backwards for this function: you increase the blend by turning DOWN the blend control, which I find completely counterintuitive.

    Therefore, I make my own 'reverse no load pot' by scraping off some of the trace inside the pot.
     
    Believer7713 likes this.