Blues guitar teacher in Chicago or North suburbs

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Mind Flayer, Sep 11, 2017.

1. Mind Flayer

Mind Flayer Strat-O-Master

I have been playing for over 20 years (not continuously) and I feel like I have hit a ceiling. I have tried to improve my speed with online lessons, youtube, books, etc, but I find that it's tough to stay disciplined with those approaches, and there's so much out there it's hard to know what's good and what isn't.

My goal is to really improve my technique and speed in a blues context. I don't need to be Yngwie fast, but I would like the ability to bust out some speedy, tasty blues licks/runs a la Kenny Wayne S, SRV, Johnny Winter.

I have decided that taking lessons again would be a good idea. Haven't taken any since I first started out as a teenager.

Does anybody have any recommendations for a good blues guitar teacher in either Chicago or the North or Northwest suburbs?

Sorry if this isn't posted in the right forum -- this didn't seem to fit in the other forums.

2. AncientAx

AncientAx Still hacking ....

Look up Malikon .Former member here .outstanding player,speed demon. From Chicago and gives lessons .

3. Mind Flayer

Thanks, I'll check him out. Is he a blues oriented player, or more metal-oriented?

4. conehead

conehead Strat-Talker

5. liltimmy

liltimmy Senior Stratmaster

Practice sequences of 3 and sequences of 4 ascending and descending your pentatonic boxes. Once you have that mastered apply hammer-ons and pull-offs to the sequences and use them at will, also adding passing tones, 9th's, and 13th's to your runs if so required. Mix it up with what you already know. This worked for me.