Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Breaking my high E once a week.

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by Eardoc, Sep 14, 2017.

1. Eardoc

Eardoc Strat-Talk Member

Jan 29, 2017
    New York
    I've been playing guitar for almost a year. I've been playing electric guitar for almost five months. I have an American Standard that got set up 2 months ago. I am breaking my high e when I do a 1 1/2 bend. I had a d'adarrio 9, a slinky 10, a gilmour 10 and they last a week. I know it's probably my technique. I'm just going to keep the backing plate off so I don't strip the screws. I have a lesson tonight so I'll ask my professor. Any suggestions?

2. Ebidis

Ebidis Providing the world with flat bends since 1985 Strat-Talk Supporter

Nov 14, 2013
    Alabama
    There may be a bur or sharp spot on the saddle.

3. alderre

alderre Strat-O-Master

May 1, 2014
    New Braunfels

4. jstewart

jstewart Strat-O-Master

Feb 10, 2013
    Toluca Lake
    Where does it break? How much time do you spend playing in that week?

The only time I ever break strings is when I've gone a while without changing them. Step and 1/2 bends are not a problem.

BallisticSquid likes this.

5. velvet_man

velvet_man Strat-Talker

Sep 7, 2016
    Vancouver
    I used to get high e and low e breaks all the time (high e from bends, low e from palm muted riff madness). I put some Graph Tech string saver saddles on and haven't broken a string since.

6. Eardoc

Eardoc Strat-Talk Member

Jan 29, 2017
    New York
    I play ~ 1-1 1/2 hr a day but I only practice that Pink Floyd money bend for like 5 minutes a day.

The luthier who set up my guitar is awesome. He was a good friend of (Les Paul )I'll ask him but I think it may be my technique. I don't think there is a bur but I'll have him check.

7. Inverness