Join Strat-Talk Today

Buying my first Stratocaster, in need of advice

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by jonatanfredholm, Mar 11, 2014.

1. jonatanfredholm

jonatanfredholm Strat-Talker

Hello everybody, my name is Jonatan, I live in Sweden and I just turned 18 and I am about to buy my first Stratocaster, finally!

I have been around my local guitar shops but I have found nothing that has been of interest for me unfortunately, so I talked to one of my friends who ordered his guitar from thomann.de so I checked and found two guitar who were both in my price range and that I thought looked cool.

Now, I am fairly new to Stratocasters, I have done some reading but I bet I am way behind from you guys so I could use some advice either on what to think about, websites that are good, specs on the guitars etc.

The two guitars I have been thinking about are below:
    Fender AM Special Strat VIB FSR - Thomann UK
    Fender 60th Anni Classic Player Strat - Thomann UK
    (The links and prices are from the UK because I asume most of you are from the US and know English.)

I would greatly appreciate your thoughts on these guitars, some pros and cons on them or what else I can look at kinda in the same price range. I also was wondering what the difference was between the American Special Strat and the American Standard, the prices are quite far from each other so I asume there is a difference, maybe someone can fill in on that.

Thanks in advance,
    Jonatan

Last edited: Mar 11, 2014
  2. normj

normj Strat-O-Master

Hello there,

A few points of difference include:
    1) frets. The American Special has jumbo frets and the Classic Player has medium jumbo frets.
    2) bridge. The American Special has a 6 screw mount (vintage) tremolo bridge and the Classic Player has a 2 point (modern) tremolo bridge. The 2 point tremolo bridge is the bridge used on the American Standard Stratocaster.