Can a guitar have a 'ground loop'?

simoncroft

Still playing. Still learning!
Silver Member
May 30, 2013
SE England
In Viking_inLA's massively popular Chinese Guitar Review thread, Didger quoted this from GuitarNuts.com - Shielding a Strat(tm).

"Remove any wires which are soldered from the shell of one pot or switch to the shell of another. These wires are ground loops because the bodies of the controls are also electrically connected through the foil on the back of the pickguard."

Now, I'm not an electrical engineer, so I am asking other forum members if I'm correct. Surely 'ground loops' only happen when you have two or more powered audio devices (ie amplifiers, mixing desks etc) in the same audio chain and they are connected to both the same mains ground (Earth if you're a Brit) and through the electrical shielding of the unbalanced audio cables. (That is to say, there are no audio isolation 'balancing' circuits on the I/O to prevent this from happening.)

As far as I understand it, a ground loop is caused in a difference in 'potential' between the AC mains side of the circuits and the audio side.

How could that possibly happen inside a passive guitar, when all you are doing is hooking up a few pot casings two different ways for maximum reliability?

I'd be the last to say anything on a guitar 'makes no difference to the sound' but I've been adding extra ground wires to pots for years and I'm pretty sure I've never created a 'ground loop'.

Anyone prepared to argue the case on a technical level?

fumbler

PhD-Stratology
Oct 22, 2009
New Joisey!
No, you're correct. Ground loops are only possible in an active/powered circuit like an amplifier where you have different gain stages. The "hot" part of the circuit for one stage might be the "ground" for the next stage. Or when you have two different powered devices like you mention.