Join Strat-Talk Today

Carbon Fiber

Discussion in 'DIY Strat Forum' started by Ian Ashdown, May 18, 2019.

1. Ian Ashdown

Ian Ashdown Strat-Talk Member

Hi,

I’m a returning Guitar player, not very good but getting a little better every day, and professionally I’m an aerospace composites engineer. I’ve done all the design work for the manufacture of a Carbon Fiber Strat Neck. A body will follow, and maybe a one piece Strat later.

I be really appreciative of any input from the forum members as to what features would be important to include. Thing like Fretboard curvature, neck shape, fret type, gloss or satin, tuner brand etc

It would be a direct replacement for a Fender neck.

Any thought, suggestions etc would be great to hear an much appreciated.

Thanks

Ian
    SoCal

Cerb, abnormaltoy and Bowmap like this.
  2. Yaralag

Yaralag Senior Stratmaster

Modern C, 9.5” radius, medium jumbo frets, and tuners? Depends on how you want them to look. Many good brands out there.

3. Bowmap

Bowmap I nose a thang or two. Gold Member

Is the fret board going to be made of wood or you going fiber there as well?

EDIT: Oh Jeeze… Welcome to the Forum. Where the heck are my manners.

4. garyhoos1

garyhoos1 Huffing n Puffing. Strat-Talk Supporter

Welcome on board :thumb:

I played a plastic guitar once I didn't like it I think Jack White had one, good luck with your venture.

abnormaltoy likes this.
  5. nungesser

nungesser When I became of age my momma sat me down Strat-Talk Supporter

Welcome aboard!
    I'm afraid I'm no help to you on any specs but it sounds like an interesting project and look forward to seeing what you come up with

abnormaltoy likes this.
  6. vid1900

vid1900 Most Honored Senior Member

On other Carbon Fiber guitars I've serviced, the CF weave pattern telegraphs through the finish after a few years. Any new tech to keep this from happening with yours ?