Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Complete DIY Strat kit for $75

Discussion in 'DIY Strat Forum' started by lukido86, Sep 15, 2016.

1. lukido86

lukido86 Strat-Talk Member

Jul 12, 2016
    France
    Hi all,

It's been a long time I know this kit exists https://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_eguitar_kit.htm and I was wondering what I could get for this price, the rating and comments are pretty good.

I do have a build project with wood blanks etc but I am a total newbie (at template step). So this is a good idea to start with this kit : assembling, finishing and setting up.

I received it and here are some pictures.

Overview:
    sP1030712.jpg

Neck with nut:
    sP1030713.jpg

Neck with fret:
    sP1030714.jpg

Neck holes:
    sP1030715.jpg

Body wood grain:
    sP1030716.jpg

Body back:
    sP1030717.jpg

Loaded pickguard:
    sP1030718.jpg

Pickguard back:
    sP1030719.jpg

Pickup detail:
    sP1030720.jpg

Pot detail:
    sP1030721.jpg

Last edited: Sep 15, 2016

2. lukido86

Jul 12, 2016
    France
    Electronics overview:
    sP1030722.jpg

Pickup selector:
    sP1030723.jpg

Tuning key:
    sP1030724.jpg

Tuning key:
    sP1030725.jpg

Bridge with saddles:
    sP1030726.jpg

Bridge:
    sP1030727.jpg

My first impression is that this is really not good quality...

The body is super lightweight, made of basswood apparently. I can damage it seriously just with my nail. I hope a good paint and lacquer job will make it stronger.

The neck feels great and is in maple. No sharp edges with the frets for ex.

The plastic parts are cheap.

The hardware is really ugly and lightweight (see the thin bridge and those saddles...). The tuning keys are awful.

The neck and the body get together well.