Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Cover Band 101

Discussion in 'Other Guitar Discussion' started by JPGR, Dec 4, 2017.

1. JPGR

JPGR Strat-Talk Member

Apr 28, 2017
    Massachusetts
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a longtime player who's finally getting out of the apartment and playing in a band setting. I'm the rhythm guitarist and only one in my group that hasn't played bars, pubs, parties, etc. I'll take lead on a few tunes (American Girl, Come Together).

Long story short, I don't want to look like a total newb in front of my bandmates or sound guy when we start playing out next year. We practice using the Jamhub machine, so we haven't had a chance to mic our amps and mess around with the mix.

Any advice on what kinds of questions I should be prepared to answer? Here's my gear:

1. Classic Player 60s Strat
    2. Ibanez TSA15 Combo amplifier (I usually leave the TS engaged with drive all the way down as my base tone)
    3. Joyo Vintage Overdrive (for solo boosts or distortion)

To start, I don't know if most of you bring your amps to gigs or use the backline gear provided.

Thanks very much!

2. sam_in_cali

sam_in_cali Scream for me Strat-Talk! Strat-Talk Supporter

Feb 21, 2014
    Santa Maria, CA
    Its been a long time since I played out live but I cannot recall any of the places we played that had a backline of any sort; we had to haul in/out everything we used.
    That being said, your amp may have a hard time being heard in a band setting without being mic'ed.

amstratnut and JPGR like this.

3. Hendrixlvr

Hendrixlvr Strat-Talker

Jul 8, 2016
    Mississauga