Does this look legit?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Tsjackson, Jun 30, 2020 at 5:57 PM.

1. Tsjackson

Tsjackson Strat-Talker

Being sold as a 2003 AVRI 62.

1DAB5695-3FBA-42CB-8DE8-F76AE5646BA1.png
    EB42C6AC-5E21-4AA0-82F4-71D58342CA1A.png

I’ve asked for more pictures although Im guessing the price is lower than expected due to the lack of photos on the add...

Also, I’ve already asked google but I honestly trust the people on here more than I do a search engine...
    is this guitar actually vintage spec? As in neck shape/radius/frets and presumably the pickups are the 57/62?
    And nitro finish?

cheers!

2. Randy_Lahey

Randy_Lahey Strat-Talker

from the tiny pictures it looks ok so far. Would need to see better pictures of course, and I'm a noob as well. Someone competent should be along shortly!

3. Paperback Rocker

Paperback Rocker Intruder alert! Intruder alert! Strat-Talk Supporter

Looks to be damage to the headstock decals . . . but it looks pretty legit from here.

4. CB91710

CB91710 This is a Custom Title Gold Member Strat-Talk Supporter

Are the AVRI serial numbers in the online database? That would be a start. If not, a call to Fender CS... or @Guitarmageddon or @John C

5. Deebs3

Deebs3 Strat-O-Master

I don't see a hole for the trem bar..

6. John C

John C Most Honored Senior Member

Those pics don't show enough detail to know for sure. It looks reasonable enough to research it further, but I would want to see a closeup of the headstock (the decals are fairly easy to damage), check out the serial number, etc.

A 2003 AVRI should be in Fender's serial number database, but it might be hit-and-miss in terms of verifying the original color (meaning it might not have a photo that shows the color); if it doesn't you might be able to get more details by emailing the serial number to Fender ( the address is: consumerrelations@fender.com ).

Tsjackson and CB91710 like this.
  7. Brucegomb

Brucegomb Strat-Talk Member