First post, and a NGD 1962 slabboard.

Discussion in 'Pre-CBS Strats (before 1966)' started by Trapland, Jul 16, 2020.

1. Trapland

Trapland Strat-Talk Member

Hi folks,

NGD is down a ways....

I’m new to the forum. I’m active in Les Paul, Tele, and Marshall forums under the same username.

I’m also relatively new to strats. I’ve owned a dozen or so and never kept one over a year. I’ve owned roadworns, mexi standards, American standards, EJs, squiers both $99 Mars music Asian, as well as Vintage vibes.

A little less than a year ago I decided I was going to own a Strat and keep it if only for recording. My local shop had an American Original 60s in white. I dig the neck profile, much like one of my historic LPs. I didn’t like the color so much so I took a chance and ordered both a 50s in gold and 60s in sunburst. WOW! I really dig them. (i know you all will flame me but I changed all the pickups to TexMex). I started adding them to live shows instead of all Gibson’s. I started adding more strat type material to the set too.

A couple months ago I took a little inventory of my gear. I’ve always been that guy that likes Vintage amps and newer vintage style guitars. Some of my amps are a 64 Twin, a 71 small box Marshall and my personal fav an original full stack early 1968 50 watt bass rig. But my guitars are all Gibson historic Les Pauls, ES335s, 50s style teles, 50s-60s style strats all in nitro. I didn’t own any vintage guitars. I’ve owned many, 50’s Gibson archtops, thinlines, cheaper vintage fenders likE mustangs. I’ve NEVER kept any because I actually DIDNT like how they felt to play or sounded as well as new guitars and I didn’t have to feel bad about a pickup change or regret on a new guitar.