Join Strat-Talk Today

First post and NGD 1990 American Standard Strat! Tell me what I need to know!

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by leeowensoas1, Nov 8, 2019.

1. leeowensoas1

leeowensoas1 New Member!

Hey all! First time poster but I've learned a lot reading here over the years!

So ever since I started playing I've dreamt of a purple strat of my own, my favorite guitar in a tragically underused color. Finally after years I found a real gem on reverb, currently in transit to me. The guitar was listed as a 1999 american strat, no detail on the model. I had trouble turning up any Metallic purple 1999 american strats (standard, given no locks on the tuners) and the serial didn't show up in the fender db. I'm not particularly knowledgeable on the history of strats but a little internet research turned up that this was a legit strat, but from 9 years earlier with the N9***** serial number from the start of 1990's production run. The serial being on the front and trees all confirmed.

Sorry for being wordy, but I'm pretty excited for this one haha! Anyway just wondering, should I do any of the usual pickup rolls, locking tuners, nut, etc. on this thing? I know 90s strats are no pre-65s, but in a couple months this guitar will be 30 years old, mint condition and bone stock. I'm wondering if there's any concern that it may be worth something in a few years and should be kept stock

2. aviamsi

aviamsi Senior Stratmaster

Welcome to the forum and congrats for the new guitar!!

3. Neil.C

Neil.C Most Honored Senior Member

Do what you like with it, it's never going to be more valuable than all the other American Standards out there which even now don't command huge amounts, in fact they are very good value for money.

The quality of the hardware is very good so locking tuners etc are really just personal preference.

4. Yves

Yves Most Honored Senior Member

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your Strat!