Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Gold Lace Sensor - A few Questions From a Noob

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by FuzzFace90, Aug 21, 2017.

1. FuzzFace90

FuzzFace90 Strat-Talk Member

Hi everyone! I'm a complete noob to Lace pickups and have no experience with them, just stock Fender pickups. I've been interested in Lace Sensors for a long time, and I really like the tones that Clapton and Beck got from them in the 80s. I've decided I'd like a set of golds in my Strat. However, after reading countless threads, a consistent theme that pops up is that the new Golds don't have the same mojo as the old Fender-Lace labeled ones, though I haven't seen anyone state a definitive difference between old and new. Can anyone with experience using these pickups give me their opinions? Also, do I really need the Clapton mid-boost mod to get the most out of these pickups tonally? Side note: I've seen rave reviews for the Hot Gold's and they sound good on demos to me. How do they stack up compared to the standard golds? Thanks!!! :thumb:

Tuica likes this.

2. Ebidis

Ebidis Providing the world with flat bends since 1985 Strat-Talk Supporter

Nov 14, 2013
    Alabama
    The only question I can answer is: No you do not need the mid boost, but If you want it, it works great.

amstratnut and FuzzFace90 like this.

3. FuzzFace90

Thanks for the reply I ask because I heard the pickups were lifeless as some folks put it without the mid boost. i've also heard the Hot Golds go the sound sound of the mid boost without the mod. Particularly the 13K bridge.

4. LeicaBoss

LeicaBoss Strat-O-Master Strat-Talk Supporter

Sep 4, 2015
    New Jersey
    High output doesn't equal life.