Join Strat-Talk Today

Got the loaded Duncan guard, but question.

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by jordans0nly, Jun 24, 2019.

  1. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Might be a dumb one, but curious. Per the instructions on the SD paperwork, says I would just need to use the included screwdriver to put the wires in the pot "shown", then go from there.

    But I have NO pickups in this guitar, or harness. How would that change things?
     
  2. DaveTone

    DaveTone Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    637
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    NJ
    If its a loaded pickguard, the pickups and pots should be part of the assembly. Pics might help.
     
  3. Dick Blackmore

    Dick Blackmore Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    1,584
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego
    Confused.

    Did your prewired pickguard come with pots and pickups?

    Does your guitar currently have pickups and pots?
     
  4. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    I'll get pix soon. Still working. No, my guitar has no pickups or harness.
     
  5. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Here you go.
     

    Attached Files:

    • SD.jpg
      SD.jpg
      File size:
      214.2 KB
      Views:
      35
    • sd2.jpg
      sd2.jpg
      File size:
      125 KB
      Views:
      38
  6. sgarnett

    sgarnett Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    I'm just guessing without the picture, but maybe the wires referred to are the signal and ground wires to the output jack and trem. If you don't have those, you will have to add them, which will require soldering.

    [Update post pics: yes, you need to solder in the missing wires.]
     
    jordans0nly likes this.
  7. lammie200

    lammie200 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,010
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Take a pictures of everything that you have and post them. It sounds like you are trying to wire a guitar without any pickups. Obviously that won't produce any electrically induced sound at all, so it is really hard to tell what you are trying to achieve.
     
  8. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Just need to find a good soldering iron and the 60/40 rosin. Will be my first go at it.
     
    sgarnett likes this.
  9. sgarnett

    sgarnett Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    He is trying to install a loaded pickguard that is designed for solderless retrofitting. He has pickups. What he does not have is output wires.
     
  10. Seymour Duncan

    Seymour Duncan Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA, USA
    Wait, it says he doesn't have pickups. Post more pics of what you have. I am confused.
     
  11. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Lolol. My strat has NO pickups, NO wiring harness. Hence buying the loaded pickguard.
     
  12. DaveTone

    DaveTone Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    637
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    NJ
    You have pickups - they are in the loaded pickguard. Otherwise it would just be a pickguard.

    Im tappin out here. I didnt see it was a solderless until now after reading the instructions.
     
  13. bluejazzoid

    bluejazzoid Strats Amore Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    5,556
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Southeast USA
    So you purchased a Liberator?

    Maybe there's still a need for yet more information and more photos in this thread. o_O
     
    jordans0nly likes this.
  14. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Correct. Yes, the loaded guard has pups. But the guitar it's going into, has no electronics at all.
     
  15. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Here's what I'm working with.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    You can see where the ground was cut on the claw.
     
  17. valor19

    valor19 Strat-O-Master

    Messages:
    534
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    That loaded pickguard makes it easy to use the ground already in the guitar and the output jack already in the guitar. You have neither. You need a ground wire (goes to the spring claw) and an output jack. Do you have any soldering experience? Also, do you have an output jack?
     
  18. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    Yes. Have a jack. The new one came with two wires for the jack. White and black. Just pulled through both. And the black is near the trem claw. No soldiering experience. Lol. But have a new iron and 60/40 rosin.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. jordans0nly

    jordans0nly Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    I've been trying to find some better instructions for installing this without having any pick ups already installed. No luck for me. Would I have to unscrew the wires from the pot on the pickguard? Confused. Then where does the ground (black) from the input jack go? Solder to the trem claw, or screw into the pot? Then where's the white wire go?

    Sorry if I sound stupid, but, want to learn.
     
  20. sgarnett

    sgarnett Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    The instructions assume you have an existing pickguard installed with those wires. You are supposed to cut your existing wires at the pickguard end, as close as you can, and strip those ends to connect to the screw block on the new guard.

    Except, you don’t have those wires. You have to add wires to the output jack and tremolo claw, as you know.

    Once you solder those wires to the claw and jack, and strip the other ends, you will be able to jump into the instructions at step 9.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.