Join Strat-Talk Today

Greetings from a Strat convert

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by dippah, Nov 19, 2018.

1. dippah

dippah Strat-Talk Member

Hello everyone, newbie here!

A bit of background... My name is Dino, and I've been playing guitar for 20ish years now. These days I'm mostly a bedroom guitarist, but I still get in at least 30 minutes of playing every day. So, not necessarily a newbie when it comes to guitar playing, but a bit of a newbie when it comes to Strats. My first electric guitar was a ridiculously cheap Strat copy that was an ugly red full of sparkles. It was so bad that the setup, apart from the regular stuff, included a Ouija board and a goat sacrifice, and it still played like it was exclusively made with a chainsaw. In the end, I just got rid of it, saved some money and got an Epiphone Les Paul. That Strat knock-off scarred me so much that I stayed away from anything Strat related for the better part of two decades, mostly playing single-cuts.

Then, I visited a music store and tried out a MIM Deluxe in Vintage Blonde because I really liked the way it looked (I tried other Strats, some cheaper, some more expensive, but this was the one that called to me). That was a year ago.

My other guitars now have, you guessed it, a year's worth of dust on them. :D Well, not really, I do clean them and even play them for a minute or two, but I keep coming back to that Strat.

I've modded it a bit, to better suit my needs and style, but it's absolutely my favorite guitar to play. Right now, I have no plans for getting more Strats, but I have been thinking about a Tele sometime in the future.

Anyway, lovely to be here, and I look forward to chatting with you! :thumb:

Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
  2. Bob the builder

Bob the builder Most Honored Senior Member

Welcome
    Yeah, a strat is special. You're gonna like a tele too

dippah likes this.
  3. tery

tery Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

Welcome to Strat-Talk :)