Join Strat-Talk Today

Hello from the UK .

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Saxby, Nov 7, 2019.

1. Saxby

Saxby New Member!

Hello just thaught I would say hi.
    I am totally new to guitars and have an old squire Stratocaster (SN: P027026) baught 2nd hand back in 2000 with the intention of playing it .
    I never did .
    I just kept it in the bag and it's moved around with me throw the years spending a fair bit of that in the loft .
    I have taken it in to a local shop were I was told it's not really worth them repairing it as most of the parts are lickley coroded.
    (Forgive me if I have the wording wrong here )
    I rember one of the variable resistors didn't work back in the day .
    And now over time 2 of the 3 are sized .
    And also was told the pickups are more then lickley gone, .
    Also was told that the head bolt might be stuck.
    It seems a shame to bin it. And I'm more then happy to re fit new or 2nd hand parts and re wire it .
    I(know there is a louse wire in side years ago with no ideas were came from)
    but I'm going to open it up on weekend and see if I can make sense of it,

But after spending a few hours reading up I'm still not sure what I should be getting . I would like to restore it to sound like something that what it used to be .. and totally have no idea what the jargon is all about . And also how to set these things up right .. or how to tell if there even right .
    If any one can point me in the right direction that would be great . But I think I'm going to buy a 2nd hand amp .(fender Mustang 2) .and start from there .

tery and Mankonis like this.
  2. Mansonienne

Mansonienne Mod admin Staff Member Strat-Talk Supporter

Welcome to the Forum.
    There are lots of videos on YouTube on guitar set-ups, etc. I'm sure one of our resident experts will be along shortly to steer you in the right direction.
    Have fun!

Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
  3. Saxby

Saxby New Member!